I have been trying to lose weight (about 15 - 20 pounds) for almost a year now and I get frustrated when I do not see immediate results. I adopt a regular work out routine and "attempt" to eat better - however, if I do not see a change within the first month to 6 weeks, I become lazy AGAIN and then I have to start the process all over, which means I have to break myself back into working out. AGAIN.
Here is my issue: I have NEVER had a regular work out regimen - I did not participate in gym and I always gave a lackluster effort if I was forced - and it was something I did when I was bored. Since I have MVP, I SHOULD do cardio - yet I didn't. And when I was younger if I wanted to lose weight, I wouldn't eat much of anything for like 2 weeks and I was back to fitting in whatever clothing presented a problem.
I have always been a sucker for sweets - I am my father's child - I could start my meal with dessert all the time, everyday and be perfectly content.
A few years ago, I kept losing weight and there was no reason for it - I ate whatever I wanted (fast food, baked goods, candy), when I wanted (all hours of the night) and I never worked out - YET I could not keep weight on me and of course, it was fine by me - it seems like all of a sudden the excess weight attacked me and now here I am trying to get back down to that size.
I decided to meet with an health educator - my goals are to keep my calories between 1500 - 1800 a day and work out AT LEAST 5 days a week for at least an hour. Geez! Seems intense, huh?! The calorie count hasn't been an issue as long as I don't eat out too much or eat a small portion of a high caloric item - and surprisingly, if I workout in Valley Green the hour goes by quickly and most of the time I go over an hour because I have to get back home, right?!
I have been up to my new routine for over a week now and I am proud to report I have already lost 4 pounds. I guess I just had to increase the intensity of my work outs and stop hitting "end" on the treadmill when it got too hard- no pain, no gain.
This getting old thing is NO fun, but I am determined to make working out a routine I stick with. Pray for me folks. :/
CONVERSATION
Subscribe to:
Post Comments
(
Atom
)
About me
Popular Posts
-
to the song here in my heart. A melody I start, but can't complete ... I don't know about you, but every time I have an interview I ...
-
Santa arrived at our house relatively early this year. Check out what he left behind... Price arrived right after breakfast so it was time t...
-
Ever had a day where your plans changed a million times and by the time you had the desire to move it started snowing & hailing in March...
-
I am so excited (besides the fact I had 3 interviews today with great companies and I have another lined up for next week) - my dad picked m...
-
Now if you know me, you know how much I LOVE Dancing with the Stars. And by LOVE, I mean I literally dance with them as they perform and try...
-
I have been wanting to visit a Drybar since they popped up a few years ago - but I never managed to visit one on my mini excursions to NYC ...
-
Every Christmas, there are some things that remain true - my grandmother bakes the coffee cakes, my mother bakes the cookies (please note I ...
-
When my mom and her siblings were children, every year they would get a house down Atlantic City. Some of their fondest memories come from t...
-
And just like that Memorial Day is upon us with the unofficial start to summer 2016. Here are my picks for this year's summer reading li...
-
what you standing over there by yourself for... Life has been crazy busy lately (hence the lack of blog posts), but I promised myself I woul...
0 comments:
Post a Comment